Ledbetter Cogbill Arnold Harrison LLP attorneys at law business financial bankruptcy banking medical legal malpractice tort Fort Smith Arkansas Western Arkansas
Ledbetter Cogbill Arnold Harrison LLP attorneys at law insurance defense law product liability taxation law business litigation civil litigation construction litigation corporate law employment discrimination Fort Smith Arkansas Western Arkansas
attorney profiles
Ronald D. Harrison (Member)

Phone: 479-782-7294


Mr. Harrison was born in Little Rock, Arkansas on January 24, 1950. He attended the University of Arkansas at Little Rock where he received a Bachelor of Arts in 1973. Mr. Harrison received a Master of Arts in 1975 and a Juris Doctorate in 1977 from the University of Arkansas. He served as President of the Sebastian County Bar Association from 1986 to 1987, and has been a member of numerous bar association committees. He served as President of the Arkansas Bar Association for the 2000-2001 term. Mr. Harrison is a Fellow of the Arkansas Bar Foundation and served as President from 2003-2004. He is also a member of the Defense Research Institute and the W. Harold Flowers Law Society. Mr. Harrison was instrumental in the formation of the Arkansas Bar Association's Commission on Diversity, the Arkansas Supreme Court's Judges and Lawyers Assistance Program and passage of the revision of the Judicial Article of the Arkansas Constitution. He was selected by the Arkansas Bar Association and the Arkansas Bar Foundation to receive the Outstanding Lawyer Award for 2007-2008. Mr. Harrison has been selected to appear in Superlawyers on multiple occasions.

Areas of Practice:

Toxic Tort and Mass Tort Defense, Industry-wide Litigation, Products Liability, Pharmaceutical Defense, Medical Malpractice Defense, and Business Litigation

Bar Admissions:

Arkansas, 1977
U.S. District Courts, Arkansas, 1977
U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit, 1983
U.S. Supreme Court, 2001


University of Arkansas at Little Rock, B.A., 1973
Outstanding Graduate Award, Communications Department, 1972
University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, M.A., 1975
University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, J.D., 1977

Professional Experience:

Partner: Harrison & Hewett, Fort Smith, 1977-1988
Master in Chancery, 1987-1988
Member: Ledbetter, Cogbill, Arnold & Harrison, LLP since 1988.
Speaker and lecturer for professional continuing education programs, law school course presentations at the University of Arkansas School of Law, Fayetteville, Arkansas, and community service courses at University of Arkansas at Fort Smith (formerly Westark College), and state and local Bar Associations in Law, Professionalism, Diversity and Ethics.

Professional Associations and Organizations:

Arkansas Bar Association, President 2000-2001; Joint Task Force of the Arkansas Bar Association and Arkansas Judicial Council for Revision of the Judicial Article of the Arkansas Constitution; He currently serves on the Arkansas Bar Association Commission on Diversity (Co-Chairman 2000-2002), the Lawyer Assistance and Law School Committees.
Arkansas Law Review, Inc. (Past President)
Arkansas Bar Foundation, President 2003-2004, Fellow
Sebastian County Bar Association, President 1986-1987
Arkansas Supreme Court Continuing Legal Education Board, Chairman (1995-1996)
Arkansas Supreme Court Board of Law Examiners
Arkansas Supreme Court Amendment 80 Committee
Defense Research Institute
American Bar Association
W. Harold Flowers Law Society
University of Arkansas 2010 Commission

Community Volunteer Work:

East Side Baptist Church, Fort Smith, Member, Counsel to Church, 1977-Present
Western Arkansas Girls Softball League, Fort Smith, former Sponsor and Coach
Boy Scouts of America: Westark Area Council, Fort Smith former Den Leader, Pack Leader, District Board Member, District Chairman; Outstanding Leadership Award and District Award of Merit and participates as a volunteer in a number of community service projects.
Boys Shelter, Fort Smith, Past Board Member